Gruntled!

On Friday I walked up the canal to the top pound. I took, as is my wont, a load of pics. I’ve mislaid the sd card with ’em on! God knows where it is!
Found the card: it was on t’floor and had been scrunched by a chair rolling over it. A bit of superglue & a lot of patience they’re all back.

<All I can do for now is give some of the highlights in words.
Took some pics of the pond, particularly the grebes …

(more pics here) … and walked on up the canal.In the field opposite the BW depot there’s a less than usual sight: domesticated white geese foraging.

I changed lenses from the tele at Highground Bridge overlooking Deep Lock. A pair of swans had taken up temporary residence above Doefield dun Lock:

Outside the Marina was Nb “Bleasdale” allegedly from Ventnor(!)

From comments: “… the Ventnor on Bleasdale is Ventnor Farm Marina at Calcutt in the midlands. The previous owners had the name painted on and the current owner has kept things as they were.
It makes a good talking point. Our narrowboat has ‘Waterways of the Humber’ on the side – that always brings the questions out – especially as she is on the broads.”
(Christine Richardson Richlow books)

Below boundary Lock I met Joe & KCath and their friend Stu. They told me that they were practicing or training for doing the “Coast to Coast” bike ride. They were, to say the least, a bit mudstriped back and front.

They’d come down the towath from Kiveton.
Snowdrops (just) appearing below Duke’s bridge – that’s the bridge below Cinderhill Lock whose bywash cuts off the snowdrops.

Nothing more eventful until the pound below Quarry Lock where the Mandarin drake was still there!

Looks as if he’s given up on his own species.

The other side of Turnerwood Double as well as the resident swans there was a Little Grebe diving all around.


On beyond Thorpe Top Treble the top pound was much as it usually is, beyond Pudding Dyke Bridge the towpath became increasingly muddy and I surrendered to my better judgement, turning around and retracing my steps.

Changed lenses back to the 70-300 for the return journey. The Little Grebe was still there …

More pics here
… as was the Mandarin.

More pics here
Met the three cyclists at almost, to within 50 yards, the same place: they’d been through Worksop and, like me, been turned around by the nasty wet towpath. Wonder how they coped with the top pound. Almost immediately after we’d parted the skies opened with a downpour of wet hail. I unpacked my showerproof and trudged on to Shireoaks. By now my back was giving me gyp and I sheltered in the bus stop with the intent of riding back to Worksop/ The sky cleared before the bus arrived and I went back to the towpath home.

2 thoughts on “Gruntled!

  1. Hi Roj, the Ventnor on Bleasdale is Ventnor Farm Marina at Calcutt in the midlands. The previous owners had the name painted on and the current owner has kept things as they were.

    It makes a good talking point. Our narrowboat has ‘Waterways of the Humber’ on the side – that alqays brings the questions out – especially as she is on the broads.

    Like

speak!

