Friday 11th January

Just to say: It takes me hours to select (I took over 500 here) and play about with pictures before loading them up to the blog. That’s why I’m usually SLOW with new pages.
On Friday I took a trip to my home town, Sheffield. I spent my early life there and return whenever I can. It’s only ½ an hour’s train journey.

On the way there (haven’t train fares gone up?) the line passes Turnerwood and the Brancliffe canal feeder. I’ve walked the length of the feeder but this is a different picture.

Brancliffe Feeder

Brancliffe Feeder

Sheffield town

(here’s a map)
I’ve shown several pictures of the “water feature” outside the station; this catches almost all of it.

Sheffield station forecourt

Sheffield station forecourt

I was distracted by what seemed to be a fire drill on Paternoster Road and walked up Charles Street. This picture (David Attenborough) must be fairly new as it doesn’t show on Google maps.

A British institution: David Attenborough.

A British institution: David Attenborough.

Not generally appreciated, the cheese grater car park:

Cheese grater.

Cheese grater.

Either side of a shop door, these greyhounds are about three feet high.

Stone greyhound

Stone greyhound

The new market building’s well under way:

Looks quite ambitious.

Looks quite ambitious.

Graves Park

Map here
Caught a 20A bus to Graves park. This was the 33 when I last lived here, but I remember before they built the Hemsworth estate when the 34 was the main route with 2 & 3 “Circular” going entirely round the city.
I walked down to my old local where Stuart the landlord was just going out. He gave me some sad news, it had been the funeral of an old drinking buddy the day before. John Ashmore was for a good many years a fixture at the Mount Pleasant lounge bar.

There’s an old quarry site where we called the spoil heaps the “elephant hills”
Sun through the bare trees is striking.

'Twas a beautiful sunny day

‘Twas a beautiful sunny day

An old bridge shows how an arch can hold against the years.

Arch bridge

Arch bridge

Looking up the side of “Waterfall wood” the sunlight again through the trees.12:19:21 Graves Park Sheffield Friday 11th Jan 266

Fungus on a downed tree

Fungus

Fungus

Lakes

There are three lakes. The bottom one used to have rowing boats on complete with ‘parky’ tannoying “number six, your time is up”. It’s now given over to waterbirds and lillies.

A couple of coots were either fighting or mating, my money’s on the former.

Brawling coots

Brawling coots

There’s often a squirrel around the ‘bottom’ lake.

Squirl

Squirl

I’ve been fascinated by goosanders on Godfrey’s pond, so I was very pleased to see the population on the lake.

Both sexes together

Both sexes together

A quick flash.

A quick flash.

A reasonable picture of a male.

Male Goosander

Male Goosander

Pied wagtail bobbing about below the ‘middle’ pond.

Pied wagtail.

Pied wagtail.

On to the ‘top’ lake. I recall when it was nothing but a swamp that you could walk across almost dry shod. It’s now fenced off and populated by more waterfowl.

What's this bird?

What’s this bird?

No ornithologist: what are these birds?

Birds

Birds

Guinea fowl looking all monochrome.

Native of Africa.

Native of Africa.

Common as muck:

Sparrow

Sparrow

Back to town

In the Peace Gardens the illuminations were being dismantled.

Doctor Who going!

Doctor Who going!

The stainless balls on Norfolk street reflect the strangest things.

Balls

Balls

Back at the station, the fountain was running.

Fountain

Fountain

And so back home.

6 thoughts on “Friday 11th January

  1. I dont remember what youve photographed. Of course.
    I remember the vast open space of mown grass down from the gate.
    And walking the dogs with Edna. Mysterious, ever changing paths. And all the places for the dogs to disappear.
    T

    Like

  2. Pingback: Second week of January | rojerb

  3. Goodness me! What a photographic trip down Memory Lane! Recognised the Elephant Hills and bits of Graves Park – even the little bridge. Didn’t recognise any of Sheffield city centre – not surprising since I haven’t visited it for years. Is the Pavilion still there and the rose gardens? I remember the lakes, the boats, the muddy bit and that strange piece of park alongside Hemsworth Road and Bunting Nook. I used to come home from school on the Circular bus (and so did you)! x

    Like

    • The Pavilion’s still there, the rose garden’ a bit tattier than ’twas. You’d recognise bits of the town – but a lot has changed. There;s a load o’ pics on Flickr. How are you keeping?

      Like

  4. P.S. Was John Ashmore any relation to the Ashmore’s who lived down the little lane at the side of my house at the farm called Bleak House? I remember that Ted Ashmore lived there. I wasn’t supposed to go down the lane on my own in case I fell in the dew pond and drowned! x

    Like

speak!

