Thrid Post Of April

There’s a couple of “walks” in the time covered by this post but I’m putting them on separate pages in the next couple of days.

By the way, I have difficulty distinguishing sparrows and dunnocks, with chiffchaffs thrown in, it gets worse.

Thursday 18th April 2013

Mum & dad (which is which I've no idea) busy doing nothing.

Mum & dad (which is which I’ve no idea) busy doing nothing.

A robin a tad windblown.

A robin a tad windblown.

On the pond a pair of swans were doin' the buggerin' off.

On the pond a pair of swans were doin’ the buggerin’ off.



Friday

Chiffchaff

Chiffchaff

"Arty" pic of a dunnock

“Arty” pic of a dunnock

Composite of a robin arriving.

Composite of a robin arriving.

A fluffy nest builder

A fluffy nest builder

A one legged duck (really - it wasn't just standing on one foot)

A one legged duck (really – it wasn’t just standing on one foot)



Saturday

Bird

Bird2

Worksop peacock butterfly

Worksop peacock butterfly

Leaf buds

Leaf buds

Steps

Steps

Beighton peacock butterfly

Beighton peacock butterfly


Greenfinch

Greenfinch



Sunday

robins

Robino1

Greenfinch

Greenfinch



Monday

Wren

Wren

Wren01

tit

Narcissi

Dunnock

Dunnock

Chiffchaff x 2

Chiffchaff x 2

Arty chaffinch pic

Arty chaffinch pic

Catch

Bee



Tuesday

You wouldn't believe how loud these little beggars can be.

You wouldn’t believe how loud these little beggars can be.

Another arty one of a chaffinch

Another arty one of a chaffinch

A chiffchaff

A chiffchaff

Peacock. There's two here actually

Peacock. There’s two here actually

?

?

robin

Catkins (?)

Catkins (?)

Why they call 'em great CRESTED grebes

Why they call ’em great CRESTED grebes



Wednesday

Bee on pussy willow

Chiffchaff – what a zoom lens is for

Two views of a wren

Two views of a wren

Bee on pussy willow

Bee on pussy willow



Thursday

chiffchaff

thrush

chaffinch

Don't rate this: on the ground next to th pond car park.

Don’t rate this: on the ground next to the pond car park.

8 thoughts on “Thrid Post Of April

  1. Sometimes, late at night when I cannot sleep, I resort to visualisation to try to help. I focus on really seeing and smelling and feeling as much as my mind can imagine as I set off on a journey. The cobbles under my soft-soled gutties, the fragrance of whatever flower I have chosen that night, my breathing, the sounds of birds. I generally choose a path, old cobbles, mossy archways, high crumbling walls or looming trees to either side, but leading somewhere fascinating, somewhere ‘else’. Through splashes of evening sunlight, I catch glimpses off in the distance, around a corner, my road meanders its way to somewhere quite special that I never quite reach.

    And why, you might fairly ask, I am babbling on in such a fashion on your blog? Why because your steps could easily belong in that walk. They would make a fine addition to the route I take. I will have to wait to see what happens when I reach the top. I might just remove the wooden beams though 🙂

    Like

    • Mmm. and, judging by the way they’re worn, the aeons they’ve been there. Agree with the beams. The church that they lead up to, or down from I suppose, dates from the twelfth century so they could be up to 900 years old.
      My “get to sleep visualisation” is trying to recreate in my mind’s eye an aborted book I wrote many years ago and lost in a computer crash. Never get far before zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

      Like

speak!

