An idle week

This last week I have done virtually NOWT.

I was knackered and sciatic from the walk to Clumber and later not really in the best frame of mind. Weather’s been crap too!

Anyhow: some pics.

Saturday the eighth June

Birds around the pond and mallards on the canal

Robin singing

Still singing after all this time


Two views of the same pied wagtail

Two views of the same pied wagtail in the rugby field

Chiffchaff

Getting blasé about these now: Chiffchaff

A damp tit swinging underneath some of last year's haws.

A damp tit swinging underneath some of last year’s haws.

A couple of mallard males having a scrap

A couple of mallard males having a scrap

Should just say that the grebe family are still on the pond but stay as far from land as they can – not good for handheld tele pics.

Sonntag der neunte Juni

Just round the pond.
Sparrows were hunting, bobbing about on the tops of a field of nettles.

Sparrow with nest stuff

Sparrow with nest stuff

Goldfinch

Goldfinches are commoner than I thought

And I’ve no idea what this little beggar was. Only caught a momentary glimpse.

Bird

Identify this wee beast please.

Lundi le dixième Juin


Ladybird

Ladybird – only the second I’ve seen this year.

A bug

A bug


Coot and chick

Coot ‘n’ kid

Martedì l’undici di Giugno

Goldfinch

Goldfinch


Mum and kids on the canal

Mum and kids on the canal


Perch

Perch


Rather beautiful black headed gull

Rather beautiful black headed gull (should be called “chocolate headed”)


Small white

Small white


Chiffchaff

The cutest!


Grebe parent

Grebe parent

El Miércoles el duodécimo de Junio


Didn’t set foot outside all bloody day.
Highlight was Squeak in my backpack.
Black cat in black bag

Squeak

Quinta-feira, a décima terceira do mês de Junho


Bloody rain!
Got soaked
one pic:
Stripy headed grebe chick

Stripy headed grebe chick

Friday


Bug on a grass stem

Chaffinch over the canal

Chaffinch over the canal

Blackbird on hawthorn

Liked this blackbird on its hawthorn

Blackbird taking tea home

Blackbird taking tea home

Sparrow hunting

Sparrow hunting

Sky over St Anne's took my fancy

Sky over St Anne’s took my fancy

9 thoughts on “An idle week

  1. Sorry you have not been feeling that flash, hope you improve very soon. I have nothing intelligent to offer, but that has never stopped me. I also loved St Anne’s and the sky above it. The ducks made my daughter and I smile and all the birds are beautiful 🙂 Oh, and the fish gave me the heeby jeebies, sometimes I have nightmares about fish, horrid things. Doesn’t stop me eating them, prepared in batter though.

    Like

    • Thanks, think it’s at least 60% the weather – wet & dull in June- should be summer – isn’t summer – as you can see from St Anne’s sky 🙂

      Birds are beautiful – even common little sparrows – I could fill the internet if I took & posted every time I saw a cute duckling family.

      (I could do likewise if I took & posted every time I saw a lump of dog poo!)

      Never seen any attraction in angling – boring way to torture small animals. Different if they ate ’em but they chuck ’em back!

      Nice bit o’ cod in batter sounds appealing for tea 🙂

      Like

  2. My last cat was called Squeak! 🙂 Nice pics as always and hope you’re feeling a bit cheerier. I reckon your first sparrow with nesting stuff is a female blackcap, I’ve had a pair visiting my pond this year. The male has a distinct black cap but the female’s is brown. They never come when I have my camera though! 🙂

    Like

    • Never heard of blackcaps until about a week ago. If it is then there’s loads of ’em on about a hundred square metres of nettly stuff.

      Cats: Gingernuts ’cause he’s got …; Gingerkit ’cause he’s the only kitten I’ve reared; Kipper a big black guy with a missing tooth who sleeps all day & night; Squeak a delicate black lady with a white chest spot who does, squeak that is.

      Like

speak!

