Weekend – including Sunday to Turnerwood

Some of my pics are possibly not very good ’cause they’re rather blurry. This is because of either the distance between me and the target or my hamhandedness and general incompetence. I smarten ’em up a tad in the GIMP [poor man’s Photoshop] only by slightly adjusting the colour.

Saturday 15th June

Pond → Town → Back.

First flower on the lily patch on the pond.

First flower on the lily patch on the pond.

Small white butterfly on a rapeseed flower

Small white butterfly on a rapeseed flower

A bee between visits to rapeseed

A bee between visits to rapeseed

Bee at work on rapeseed

Bee at work on rapeseed

Ducklings

Gotta have a duckling or two

Rabbit next to the towpath

Rabbit next to the towpath

Pied wagtail on the towpath

Pied wagtail on the towpath

Sparrow on a dead tree branch

Sparrow on a dead tree branch

Robin!

Robin!

Sadly a dead mole on the path round the pond

Sadly a dead mole on the path round the pond

Creepy crawly: a woodlouse.

Creepy crawly: a woodlouse.

Sunday 16th June

Weather almost ideal for walking. Only thing I took was my waterproof all wrapped up and tied to my waist. Walked up to Turnerwood, taking a diversion to Brancliffe from Duke’s bridge and back following the feeder.

Sparrow's back view

Sparrow’s back view – pretty, innit?

Chiffchaff

Chiffchaff


 
 
 

Side trip from Doefield Dun to walk round via Shireoaks Miner’s Welfare Through an insectfull field of buttercups.
click to embiggen

Just a word about cow parsley: I always called it “mother-die” when I was a kid. The word being that if picked your mother would die. I still have never knowingly picked any, despite my mother being twenty plus years dead.

Bee on a ...?

Bee on a …?

Yellowhammer near Brancliffe

Yellowhammer near Brancliffe

Photographing swallows is dead dodgy They flit around so fast and unpredictably.

Swallows over Brancliffe barley

Swallows over Brancliffe barley

 
 
 
click to embiggen

Chaffinch on a windlass post

Chaffinch on a windlass post

Quite old ducklings having a kip with Mum

Quite old ducklings having a kip with Mum

Day old chicks.

Day old chicks.

Swallow - the wire's in the way but a must show pic

Swallow – the wire’s in the way but a must show pic

And a final grebe on t'pond.

And a final grebe on t’pond.

13 thoughts on “Weekend – including Sunday to Turnerwood

  1. Whenever I see a lily pad I always think of Thumbelina. Had never heard of the “mother-die” though we did call Dandelions “pee the beds”. I only picked them while they were seeding to avoid the otherwise dire consquences šŸ™‚ I think I read somewhere that dandelions have diuretic properties, so that might be why the “pee the beds” moniker.

    Like

    • I have never read/seen Thumbelina, sadly.
      Dandelions were “piss-a-beds”. Dandelion tea (?!) reckons to be a good diuretic, although why anyone would want to increase their peeing defeats me.
      Apparently the name mother-die isn’t unique to me.

      Like

      • No offence but I think I prefer pee the beds, which is gross enough – and yes, I also do not understand the need for diuretics! All I seem to have talked about online for the last few days is people flashing their bosoms or using the toilet. It’s been a strange sort of week šŸ˜€

        Like

      • Heh! sitting here with towel round waist flashing my neckid chest (not the happiest sight!) & listening to 60’s progs on BBC R4 extra. Better get dressed & out!

        Like

  2. Your little bee might be on woody nightshade.
    The flower books are out regularly now. Recently identified a weird thingy as the spring rhizome of horsetail – well I never knew that!
    There’s something about water lilies. All those petals.
    Lovely.
    T

    Like

    • I thought originally that it was deadly nightshade but looking it up – no. So thanks for that. There’s loads of horsetail on Bracebridge farm or is it marestail as I originally thought?

      Checking on t’net it is horsetail – fascinating plant.

      Water lilies are beautiful.

      Like

      • I think of it as mares tail, but the book calls it horse tail.
        Wiki says they’re different – mare’s tail has flowers, horsetail does the thing with spores.
        Now I have to find some mare’s tail.
        T

        Like

speak!

