13th to July

Please click pics to see ’em bigger.
A lot of the pics have captions visible when you “mouse” over.

Saturday 13th

To Sheffield on t’ train. Reasonable weather – there was a dance thing on and loads of folk around dancing and watching.

Peace Gardens

Peace Gardens


 
 
 
 
Back home went round t’ pond. You’ve seen a lot of these subjects before.
Don’t know what butterfly the caterpillar is of. Quite a few of them around – jet black from above – orange around the “feet”. I know they’re called prolegs
The two juvenile grebes were taking off to leave the home pond for good.

 
 
 
 

Sunday 14th


Pond.


 
 
 
 

Monday 15th

Pond & canal to town.


 
 
 
 

Tuesday 16th

Pond.


Here’s one I did earlier:Cater2
 
 
 
 

Wednesday 17th

Pond and canal.
Brighter coloured butterflies now becoming more common.
I had the gatekeepers down as “meadow browns” – oops! The ladybird larva was identified for me on Twitter by @MelJD46 as a “harlequin” late stage larva. Flowering rush likewise was identified by @watts127 who I’ve met walking his dogs several times.
The grass flower/seedhead was just a whim.


 
 
 
 

Thursday 18th

Pond …


… down to Bracebridge: …
… and back again:

 
 
 
 

Friday 19th

Clouds over the pond …
DSC_1696Pond 
 
 
 
… and round the pond. Just for a change a swan flapping about and then walking on water. Back to normal with a ringlet, a grebe on the nest and mating common blue damselflies. Got to have a grass reed flower and a pair of sparrows passing through a fence.

Dead chuffed with this, you can see that there appear to be three eggs.
DSC_1833GrebeNestEggs

And finish with another view of the pond between two of the poplars at the east end of the pond:DSC_1926GodfreysPondWorksop
 
 
 
 
Getting late: to bed!

3 thoughts on “13th to July

  1. Ah, something soothing. If you just witnessed my complete temper tantrum melt down on Twitter you will appreciate how much I appreciate that 🙂

    Pleasing how the poplars hang like curtains framing the pond. The delicate flowers and the thistle – I hope that bee didn’t get too close – and those gorgeous “only weeds” were my favourites today.

    And always the birds, who look so gloriously free.

    Like

      • Trust me, my life is hardly a barrel of thrills, if I was to photograph it it would mainly be me looking after my kids, working and going to movies. The excitement is almost unbearable. As for you – well I laughed and it’s not even 7am, but it is duly noted 😀

        Like

speak!

