Three more days into September

It’s the 23rd as I begin this, so I’m relying on my (crap) memory for lots of it.

Speaking of which (my memory), I’d like to say something about my “people skilz”:

I do not remember faces.

That’s it: I’m really, I mean REALLY, bad at recognizing* people. Especially I do not “know again” folk that I see in one situation whom I ‘know’ from some other. I regularly fail to realise that someone I bump into in Wilko is the same person that I have regularly exchanged greetings with on the canal towpath. If they have a dog with them then chances are quite good that I’ll identify them by their animal.

This is nothing new, it isn’t concomitant(wot a word!) with my advanced yearage. The opposite also applies – I occasionally see people I’m sure I know or should know without realising that they’re familiar from t’ telly. I once greeted a guy outside Walshes store on Sheffield High Street like a long lost relative only to realize as I grabbed his arm that it was Reginald Bosanquet – an ITV newsreader in the 70s. Red face!

*from Latin recognoscere “acknowledge, recall to mind, know again; examine; certify,” from re- “again” + cognoscere “know”. Meaning “know again, recall or recover the knowledge of, perceive an identity with something formerly known or felt” first recorded 1530s.

Anyhow, on with the pics:

Please click pics to see ’em bigger.
A lot of the pics have captions visible when you “mouse” over.
 

Friday 6th


I often see, and unfortunately disturb, Godfrey’s Pond’s heron. They are excellent birds.
Rather common are the rain splashed spider web, invasive himalayan balsam, the pigeon with an inadvertent tuft and the acorn with raindrops.
Grebes always have a shake after submerging on a fish hunt.

Saturday 7th

A kestrel regularly hovers above the pond and canal. Sometimes it’s good enough to pose for the camera.
 
 
 

I went up the green lane opposite the rugby club, the one that underpasses the A57.
The first wren was scuttering around in the undergrowth a few feet away, of course it did the buggerin’ off as soon as I moved to get a better picture. Balsam seed pods are quite amazing – at the stage shown here, the slightest touch is enough to make them expel their seeds almost explosively. Blackberries are in season with a vengeance, some even taste of blackberry. The spider was busy building a web. It’s quite rare for a wren to stay in one place enough to photograph so two in one day !!

Sunday the eighth

There’s a grasshopper (or is it a cricket?) in the first picture – not easy to see. Round Lady Lee nature reserve, it’s actually a flooded long disused quarry. There was, before the A57 bypass, Sainsbury’s and the industrial estate, a canal leading from the Chesterfield to a loading dock.
Showing the Reserve and the route of the canal

Showing the Reserve and the route of the canal

The canal is still detectable and slightly wet from where it enters the copse that has grown south of the old quarry through to the dock.

Moer tomorrow!

7 thoughts on “Three more days into September

  1. Seems ages since the last pictures; glad to see these.
    You’ve a very well behaved kestrel posing for you. The ones round here diappear on the days the camera comes out.
    Particularly like the pondweed.
    T

    Like

    • The kes is often over the same places and stays long enough to be walked nearer, although it rarely comes lower than (guess) 50 ft so all pics are blown up rather a lot..
      Pondweed: so did I – that’s why I snapped it. 🙂

      p.s. more kestrel pics to come.

      Like

  2. The spider close up is amazing. What a beautiful and industrious creature. Can’t understand why my daughters are scared of them! Wonderful photographs as ever – love the red bodied dragon or damsel fly. Glad to see the butterflies and moths are still surviving.

    Like

    • Spiders are beautiful – and so useful – we’d be smothered in flies if it wasn’t for them 😉
      It is a dragon – if you want to try to identify it, here’slink a website.
      The first shall be last – first I saw were the speckled wood and, apart from the ubiquitous whites, they’re the only ones still often seen.

      Like

  3. It’s been yonks since a post, lovely to see you posting again. The kestrel made my heart soar with him. We used to pick and eat blackberries from the bushes outside a local church when I was a girl, nearly sure we called them bramble berries. There were also raspberry bushes filled to bursting in the old orchard behind Sir John Maxwells. No washing them or anything, straight into the mouth they would go. We must have eaten our fair share of little green spiders too, I shudder to think 🙂

    I have a name blindness thing, but thankfully not faces, my facial recognition software is most excellent, that must be damned annoying.

    Like

    • (Missing your posts & tweets 😦 )
      Rarely like bought fruit except raspberries, strawbs don’t live up to their reputation, but wild bramble fruit (blackberries) can be excellent. I’ve a little known fact about them but I’m saving that for the next post. I recall vast fields of soft fruit in Scotland from my youth (did I mention that I love Scotland?).

      I see dozens of people up & down the canal and always greet them pleasantly just in case I’ve met them before and should know them. It’s not that I don’t recognize folk really – more that I recognize everyone equally.

      Keep an eye out for me, won’t you Alison.

      Like

      • I like frozen fruit, I buy lots of frozen blueberries, cherries and occasionally strawberries and make them into smoothies. Disgustingly healthy. Fresh strawberries are often very disappointing, unfortunately. I like Kiwi fruit and star fruit and a few other odd antipodean fruits too. But none of them taste as good as the ones we picked straight from the bushes.

        I shall, there’s no escape 🙂

        Like

speak!

