Sorry ’bout that!

Bit of a hiatus there – no posts since that covering the end of November – who’s a naughty boy?
Reasons for this dereliction of duty:

  • Sheer idleness
  • Lack of anything amusing to say
  • Much the same old pictures – nothing new
  • Sheer idleness (oops, did I do that one already?)

Should you wish to see what you’ve missed, pics are all here on FlickrLINK by date.
I’m in a dilemma at the moment, I’ve saved up some pennies and wanna buy something. Question is which? Choices are:

  1. Nikon D7100 camera £749
  2. Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-6.3G ED VR Lens £475.9
  3. Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Lens £669
  4. Sigma 150-500mm f5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM for £590
  5. Tamron SP AF150-600mm F/5-6.3 Di VC USD Lens £899

Prices are Amazon; I’m not saying that’s where I’d buy but the prices are fairly representative.
The camera is the next step up in the Nikon range – it’s got a terrifically increased ‘pixel count’ and sundry control improvements.
The two 18-300 lenses appear similar but note the second has larger [6.3→5.6] aperture at maximum extension.
The two larger lenses only close down to 150mm (no good for macros) and would definitely require use of tripod at max, I’ve got shaky hands. (Not an age thing – I’ve always had shaky hands – couldn’t use a film camera some 30 years ago unless lighting was brilliant)


Stream of consciousness

Persons with windchimes should have bells played in their bedrooms all night!
I am somehow reminded of this beast seen last 4th July – it’s a “Northern Eggar” moth. "Oak" or "Northern" eggar moth (composite)

Can anything not made of stone be “monolithic“? (from Latin monolithus “consisting of a single stone”)

Thinking of making adaptable harnesses for camera(s) and tablet computers*. Looked up harness on Google – seems to be horses, military and BDSM (shades of …)! Think I might have something with “Webbing” though.
*I occasionally use my tablet to run “Map My Walk” as I wander around the place – hereLINK for example is Thursday’s.

You know when you’re dying for a pee (old age galloping on?) and you get there, be it loo, public convenience or handy bush, and your zip jams? That!

Department of despairing about the human race: on Flickr there’s counters for each time a picture is viewed; mine get a couple of dozen or so except I noticed that when I titled a picture “… tit” the views shot up to 50+. Then I titled a couple of pictures “pussy willow”; the count went through the roof – over 1000 in one case and 500 odd in another!

On with the motley:


Here’s one I started way back:

Flickr links with every date


Monday December the First 2014

Almost monochrome picture of a tufted duck on the pond

Almost monochrome picture of a tufted duck on the pond

Barely visible vole, robin, pheasant, crows, gulls, fungi and teasels on Flickrlink.


2nd

Just a word of explanation: I’ve downloaded a program “Hugin Panorama Creator” (Google it to find out about itlink).
At first glance it’s easy to use but I suspect there’s hidden depths. Anyhoo I’ve begun doing multiple shots and joining them in Hugin. This will inevitably become boring for the casual reader (loads o’ pics of the pond!) and won’t be very seeable on a phone or tablet so I won’t put ’em on here (much). If you really want to see ’em go herelink.

On with the pics:

The devil in a DJ

The devil in a DJ

In most parts of the UK people will salute a single magpie and say “Good morning Mr Magpie. How is your lady wife today?” By acknowledging the magpie in this way you are showing him proper respect in the hope that he will not pass bad fortune on to you. By referring to the magpie’s wife you are also implying that there are two magpies, which bring joy rather than sorrow according to the popular rhyme.Quote from here

Flickrlink


3rd

Walked to Osberton Hall on t’canal.

Cockerel at Bracebridge

Cockerel at Bracebridge

DSC_9476TreecreeperFirst time I’ve seen a treecreeper down here, just opposite the rugby field. Terrible picture (focus!) but the rarity makes it worth showing IMHO. (seen one since actually at the West end of the pond)

 

Flickrlink


4th

Our local answer to Meadowhall has these bushes on the carpark - full of sparrows all year round

Our local answer to Meadowhall has these bushes on the carpark – full of sparrows all year round

End of section


March marches on

Most countries have a climate – we have weather. So far this month there’s been brilliant warm sunshine, freezing wind, rain and snow – occasionally within minutes of each other or even concurrently. The highlight of the week has been the pond grebes nesting and laying eggs – pics to follow. Over the winter I’ve not done much – a couple of walks to Brancliffe Farm, Lindrick dale and Thorpe locks being about the most ground I’ve covered. All the photos – at least those worth looking at – are on Flickr sorted by dateLINK.

Just a word about “Hugin” – it’s a program for stitching together pictures to make panoramas, i.e. “an unobstructed and wide view of an extensive area in all directions”. There’s loads (a surfeit in fact) of panos of ‘The Pond”, two or three of the canal and a similar number of Shireoaks Woodland, as the reclaimed pit spoilheap is now named.

I’ve tried to get a few ‘macro’ pics of things like lichen, moss and fungi with not terrific success but these miniature landscapes are fascinating. One thing there’s quite a few macroish pictures of is female hazel flowers; they’re tiny pink things that skulk close to twigs waiting for pollen cast by the male catkins to drift past on the breeze. One of those things that you don’t see until you know about them.

The small marshy copse at the North West end of the pond is often alive with wildlife. There are rabbits and squirrels aplenty and I think(?) that I once saw a weasel. Loads of birds use the shallow ground water for bathing – unfortunately they’re not easy to photograph, being surrounded by twiggy shrubs. Apart from the usual suspects – tits: blue and great, finches: gold; chaf and bull – there are passing long tailed tits (CUTE), elusive goldcrests, treecreepers and several wrens. If you’re prepared to stand motionless for half-an-hour or so, you’ll catch most of them on camera. Of course there’re the ubiquitous chittering blackbirds that will raise the alarm when you appear.

Some of the pond’s birds.

 

Pheasants fighting near Cinderhill.

 

Goldcrest at Turnerwood.

 

More birds at the pond and the hazel flowers mentioned.

 

Grebes affirming their bond.

 


The grebes on the pond in March

 

Sunday the First

First sighting of the eggs, there’s at least two.

 

Monday the Second

They take it in turns to sit on the eggs. The other goes off hunting fish.

 

Tuesday the Third

The change-over of sitting duty.

 

Wednesday the Fourth

Tufties all around the nest.

 

Thursday the Fifth

Still taking turns on the nest.

 

Friday the Sixth

Shift change


thats-all-folks
For now!

3 thoughts on “Sorry ’bout that!

  1. In my limited experience, the purchase of a new camera is closely followed by the purchase of a new lens or two; the ones needed to maximise the potential of the new camera.
    As you know, I only use my phone.
    That’s because the man who knows wouldn’t show me how to set point and press on my nice little Olympus (?)
    Have fun.
    T

    Like

  2. Thank you for wonderful pictures. I had missed your blog. I think I love the tufted ducks because they look like toys (that says something weird about me!). We sometimes see a treecreeper on next door’s weeping ash. I understand why people dislike magpies but I admire them. I love the waddling walk and the glossy blue green plumage. Just as well since there are lots round here and they are regular visitors to the garden. (I do always salute them – I was brought up to be very superstitious). I know nothing about cameras and never use mine! I think you should buy the thing that allows you to do extra close-up close-ups because I love the fungi, flowers and insect pictures.

    Like

speak!

