Obtaining tea by false pretences

Went on the bus to Retford. Must be the first time I’ve seen all Market Square without the market in situ.
Walked around a bit: The Sevastopol cannon (in Cannon Square!) was apparently saved from being melted down in the war by being hidden. It and its plinth and lamp arch are listed Grade II.

St Swithun’s Church is pretty although the spelling seems off to me , I thought it was Swithin

St Swithun’s day if thou dost rain
For forty days it will remain
St Swithun’s day if thou be fair
For forty days ’twill rain nae mare

Better check on Friday then, apparently.

The plaque on the door to the bell ringers place (has it got a proper name?) reads:

C PRECEDES
MINOR QUEENS

I’ve no idea what it means.


Kings park is great, it highlights the difference between Worksop and Retford.


The canal aquaduct crosses the River Idle at the South end of the park.


Up the side of the aquaduct and to the canal.
Jen and Ifor were moored at Town lock in Abigail Jenna.
Here’s where the “obtaining tea by false pretences” comes in. I greeted Ifor as I passed, Jen came out and offered me a cuppa. We chatted for a while and I attempted to sort the one remaining clue in the “I” Saturday crossword – to no avail. It seemed that Jen had offered me tea assuming I’d walked from Worksop. She was quite taken aback when I admitted that I’d come on the bus!
After a meander down to Carolgate bridge I strolled back to town and eventually to the bus home.

Published by Roger